Lindita Rova / Regional Council of Gjirokaster

: Feb 14, 2020

Looking for Partnership Looking for Consultant Looking for Extra EU Funds
About Me

The Regional Council of Gjirokaster is Region’s local governing body provided by the Constitution of the Republic of Albania as its representative body which consists of several basic units of local government, as municipalities, that share traditional, economic, cultural and social links. The Region is the second-level units of local government, while the municipalities and communes are considered as basic units of local government.

Under the law of 2000 to improve local government, local authorities operate their activities in accordance with the principle of autonomy, liaising with the Central Government. Local government bodies are legal persons to ensure continuity of government by Regions, Municipalities and Communes.

Gjirokastra Region is one of 12 Regions, located in the south of Albania with an area of ​​2884 km2. The population of the region (according to the last census) is 72,176 inhabitants. Gjirokastra Region consists of 7 municipalities: Gjirokastra Municipality (which is also the center of the Region), Tepelena, Permeti, Këlcyra, Memaliaj, Dropulli and Libohova.


1. Developing and implementing regional policies and their harmonization with state policies at regional level, as well as any other exclusive function given by law.

2. The Region accomplish all functions that are assigned by one or more administrative units of municipalities within its territory, under an agreement between the parties.

3. The Region shall perform those functions delegated by the Central Government, according to the Law “On the Organization and Functioning of Local Government

Keywords and matching areas:

 Youth Exchanges
 Arts Education
 Cultural heritage
 Cultural Management
 Performing Arts
 Creative Europe
 Partnership Management

Ideas in Progress

Favourite Calls
No Favourite calls!