Belgium – Switzerland – Luxembourg Call for R&D Project Outlines
Deadline: May 13, 2016  

 Aerospace Technology
 Medical Biotechnology
 Nanotechnology and Nanosciences

Call description

Switzerland, Belgium and Luxembourg are member states of the EUREKA initiative and support innovation projects through the different EUREKA instruments (EUREKA and Eurostars projects). All three countries collaborate continuously with the over 40 EUREKA member states and support all innovation topics

Belgium, Switzerland and Luxembourg are jointly announcing a Call for outlines for joint innovation projects under EUREKA and Eurostars. 

To find out more about the project assessment methodology of EUREKA, please click here

Special focus

The Call is open for all topics, but focuses on specifically promoted topics: 

  • Space related technologies,
  • Bioinformatics,
  • Biotech and Medtech.

Eligibility criteria

Eligible partners are invited to present joint outlines for market-oriented, innovative R&D projects according to the following procedures:

  • The consortium should include at least one company. Research institutes and universities are welcome as additional participants.
  • The project must have an obvious advantage and added value resulting from the cooperation between the participants from at least two countries (e.g. increased knowledge base, commercial leads, access to R&D infrastructure etc.).
  • The project should demonstrate the creation of added value for the participants of all involved countries in a balanced way
  • Partners from other Eureka countries may also participate. This requires funding from their respective home countries. 

Two phases Submission and the approval procedures

In the first phase:

  • Partners will be asked to present a short project outline using the template, which is available for Swiss participant, or Belgian participant and participant from Luxemburg.
  • The completed project outlines of the phase 1 should be submitted to the Eureka offices of all involved countries simultaneously with copy to all partners of the project outline.
  • Submission is open between 24 November, 2015 and 13 May, 2016. Project outlines can be submitted at any time within this timeframe. The submission of all relevant documents has to be done by email to the addresses listed at the end of this document (no physical documents needed).
  • The outlines will be screened by EUREKA offices in Belgium, Switzerland and Luxembourg and the partners will be notified of the results within the shortest possible delay after the submission (about 2-3 weeks).

In the second phase:

  • Partners with approved outlines will be recommended to submit their full applications according to national procedures to Eureka or international procedures to Eurostars.
  • In cases where Eureka and Eurostars do not seem to be suitable, the EUREKA offices in Belgium, Switzerland and Luxembourg can suggest other funding measures.
  • The EUREKA offices in Belgium, Switzerland and Luxembourg will give recommendations on how to submit full applications. 

Funding details

Funding support to successful project proposals of Phase 2 will be given to each partner by its own funding organization (SPW- DGO6, IWT and Innoviris in Belgium, SERI and Commission for Technology and Innovation CTI in Switzerland, Luxinnovation in Luxembourg) in accordance with the national laws, rules, regulations and procedures in effect.

Concrete funding mechanisms depend on the funding framework (EUREKA/Eurostars) that will be decided on in Phase 2 of the submission process. Information on the funding mechanisms is available on the following websites and in the annex to the Call:


  • SPW-DGO6: Eureka Projects
  • Innoviris 
  • IWT

Switzerland: SERI

Luxembourg: Luxinnovation


For more information about funding conditions and eligibility criteria please contact our National Project Coordinators or download the Call for project information document 

Public link:   Only for registered users

Looking for a partnership?
Have a look at
Ma Région Sud!