Europe Aid logo

Deadline: Mar 9, 2018  

 Development and Cooperation
 Culture and Development
 Film and Media
 New Media
 Article Writing



What is LNP?

Established in 1992, Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is an award granted by the European Commission to journalists from all over the world for their outstanding works on development. For 2018 the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize will award a special thematic prize for submissions related to the elimination of violence against women and girls.


Who can participate?

The contest will be open to all journalists whose HQ media is based from one of these regions:


2.Arab World and the Middle East

3.Asia and the Pacific

4.Latin America and the Caribbean



Two categories of applicants will be identified:

  • Junior journalists (between 21 and 26 years old on 9 March 2018)
  • Senior journalists (above 27 years old on 9 March 2018).

The applicants will automatically fall under one of these categories when filling in the application form.


The entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) in one of the five above-mentioned regions.


The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work. 


Laureates cannot compete again for the Prize the year following their award, but are eligible for subsequent editions.


Journalistic works submitted by current members of staff of the European Union institutions, people involved in the pre-selection process, the jury or MC-Phrenos will not be considered. These people can enter the contest three years after leaving their position.


How to apply?

The applicants can only submit their applications via the online form. Submitted journalistic works can either have one or several authors. Postal and email application will not be considered.


The call for application will be open until 9 March at midnight, Central European Time (CET).

Language requirements

Entries are accepted in all languages. However a translation in English, French or Spanish is required for the entries, that are not written in one of these languages. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts provided in one these three languages.  



Theme 1 - Development: Entries must address issues on development in the developing world. The countries where Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development and Directorate-General for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations provide development assistance are considered part of the developing world. Please consult the homepage to see in which countries the EU provides development assistance.

Entries under this theme will be classified under one of five regions: 1. Africa; 2. Arab World and the Middle East; 3. Asia and the Pacific; 4. Latin America and the Caribbean, and 5. Europe. The classification will be based on country of residence of the applicant or on its media organisation/media outlet’s headquarters location. Two winners (depending on the age of the applicant) shall be awarded per region; therefore, there will be up to ten winners in total for the Development theme.


Theme 2 - Eliminate violence against women and girls: For 2018 the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize shall award a special prize for submissions related to the elimination of violence against women and girls. Entries for the special prize can be made by journalists from any of the five regions mentioned above.



Submitted entries are subject to length limitation. Text based entries must be maximum 1500 words long. Video and audio entries must be maximum 10 minutes long.


Selection process

 All entries must have been published (online or print), broadcasted or have appeared in a media outlet for the first time between 21 of March 2017 and 9 of March 2018 (these dates included), in one of the five regions.

 Each applicant can submit only one entry.


The Prize Secretariat reserves the right to disqualify any entry that contains hurtful, misleading, libellous or vulgar content, or that contains any material that could constitute or encourage conduct which would be considered a criminal offence, give rise to civil liability, or otherwise violate any national or international law.



Upon agreement with DG DEVCO, the entries will be assessed on clearly pre-defined criteria. Relevance to development issues, and in particular to the priorities of the New Consensus for Development, will be the main criterion.

The evaluation will be based on the following criteria:

  • Relevance - relevance to the theme; focus and significance 

  • Originality of approach - methodology, innovativeness; 

  • Investigative depth - in-depth investigation, resources put in, accuracy, factual reporting; 

  • Quality of work - writing, structure, language, clearly stated conclusion; 

  • Added value - challenging the status quo, having a big scope etc. 

Pre-selection and selection

The entries will go through a pre-selection phase carried out by renowned journalism schools. The pre-selected entries will be judged by an independent Grand Jury, composed of recognised figures in journalism, development and cooperation. The winners will be announced during an Award ceremony during the European Development Days in 5/6 June 2018 in Brussels. The decision of the jury shall be final and irrevocable.


Plagiarism, which includes the unauthorised use of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one's own, will result in disqualification. Retrospective discovery of plagiarism will result in revocation of title of winners. 



There will be up to 11 winners. Categories can be left deserted if quality is not met. The 11 winners are distributed as follows:

  • Two winners (junior and senior) will be awarded per region (1.Africa 2.Arab World and the Middle East 3.Asia and the Pacific 4.Latin America and the Caribbean 5.Europe). They will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000. A Grand Prize will be awarded in addition to one of the winners. The Grand Prize winner will receive additional trophy and EUR 5 000. A Special Thematic Prize will award the best entry focusing on the elimination of violence against women and girls. The winner will receive a trophy and prize of EUR 5 000.

The winners are expected to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 5/6 June 2018. The European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels for the Award ceremony (in the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be funded).



The European Commission has the right to reproduce and disseminate the awarded works in its own publications, on its website and in other communications and promotional materials, including, but not limited to, publicity material for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize.

Public link:   Only for registered users

Looking for a partnership?
Have a look at
Ma Région Sud!